Skip to content

Google App Engine? What?

October 16, 2011

Hey everyone!

It’s been a while – I admit I’ve been lazy with coming up with new ideas: it’s been quite a transition leaving school in June and coming all the way out to New York for my first job.

But in any case I’m excited to announce a new series of posts that I’d like share with everyone! I’m deviating a tad away from the Android only theme by introducing a series of tutorials on how to first design a back end using Google App Engine, and then on pulling everything together to make an Android client as the front end!

To lead me through these series of tutorials, I’ve decided to unwrap an application that me and my friends worked on for a competition we won last year:

http://juicyideascompetition.appspot.com/

So if you’re new to Android and/or Google App Engine, or if you’ve never built an application from beginning to end, then this series might be for you.

The order that I’ll be writing the posts will be as follows:

Application Design Process

Application Design Process

So I’ll be starting with a look into (1) Google App Engine (I won’t be covering the actual set up process which is pretty easy and Google has some nice tutorials for that) and how to set up a JDO database and write wrappers for inserting/removing objects to/from the database. I’ll then move onto how to actually (2) collect data for your database by writing scrapers and automating them by setting up cron jobs. From there I’ll give a few examples on how to (3) write HTTP GET/POST requests from both the client perspective and the servlet perspective. And lastly I’ll bring it all together by giving some client end examples on (4) making HTTP requests, receiving them, parsing the data from them, and then displaying this data.

Hopefully it won’t take too long to get through all these posts, though I expect to work on them throughout the month. But yes, always welcome to more suggestions but hope people are as excited about this as I am!

Happy coding,

jwei

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Andy permalink
    November 20, 2011 3:38 pm

    Great set of articles so far looking to see the rest of them. Many thanks.

  2. April 14, 2012 5:39 am

    Finally i have found some help in my graduation project
    special thanks to you Jwei

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 845 other followers

