Skip to content

Book: Android Database Programming

June 19, 2012

Hey everyone!

First off – I just wanted to thank you all for making this blog what it is. It’s been great getting your feedback through comments and emails, and I hope this blog has helped you guys in your development ambitions as much as it has helped me!

I’m pleased to announce the publication of my first book, Android Database Programming. It was actually through this blog that publishing company Packt contacted me and asked me to write on the topic.

As for what the book covers, I’ll briefly summarize here:

  • Learn about lighter forms of local data storage such as SharedPreferences
  • Dive into SQLite databases and learn how to customize and extend them
  • Examine various SQLite queries to efficiently query for your data
  • Learn to safely expose your SQLite database to external applications
  • Understand how to bind your SQLite database to the user interface
  • Explore various external databases such as Google App Engine and learn how to store/query data on these external platforms
  • Learn to make network requests to both post and get data from your external data store
  • Learn to retrieve, parse, and/or cache the incoming web data on the Android application

It’s currently available for purchase in both print and eBook/Kindle, and can be purchased through the publisher’s website as well as through Amazon.

A sample copy of Chapter 2 is also available for free.



Book Cover

Hope you guys like it and thanks again for all the support. As always, happy coding.

- jwei

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Muhammad Waqar permalink
    June 19, 2012 11:41 am

    Congratulations.

  2. June 29, 2012 3:06 am

    brilliant website! hope u get rich from the book ;-)

  3. Peter permalink
    April 14, 2013 8:25 am

    Jason,
    I appreciate the book which I am currently reading. I am enjoying your straight forward delivery. You explain things well and in everyday language we can all understand. A lot of technical authors could learn from your example. I appreciated the comparison between different technologies (BaseAdapters v. Cursor Adapters, internal v. external storage, etc.) as well.

    It would be quite helpful for you to add a section or post on this site the best techniques for saving images or blobs to a Android SQLite DB.

    • April 14, 2013 8:48 pm

      Hey Peter,

      Thanks for reading my book and I’ll take this comment into consideration. Things are pretty busy at work but I’ll see if I can post something on the topic within the next two weeks!

      – jwei

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 883 other followers

